bflyzone


« Pulling Teeth! | Home | »

Construction to Destruction

Going from the creative writing part of being a writer (construction) to the editing part (destruction) is hard!
I just finished writing The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (working title) and I am now ready to start chopping that sucker up and making it readable. I also have another finished novel that I should have been editing, but instead I indulged my muse and finished The Sorcerer’s Apprentice letting The Fall fall by the wayside.
My predicament is I’m still feeling creative and am just itching to keep going with more fun writing. The only problem with that is I have two books here waiting to be edited and if I don’t get them finished they won’t ever be seen and I won’t make any money to support myself, my cat, and my muse…
Yikes! I don’t want to shut down the creative center, but on the other hand I do like to eat every now and then.
Time to put on the big girl pants and start editing and revising. I’ll write a little bit to keep the nasty monster away, but that other work must be done, too. A good balance of work and play makes the Teri a happy writer.

I am also thinking about putting my whole wizard book up on its own blog, a chapter or two a week. I heard from some sources that it is a good idea, but some that it’s not. I know a few of my followers have done this in the past and i was wondering if any of you wanted to give me any pointers or opinions about this. Any opinions will be appreciated.
Have a great weekend everyone.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * katepatrick says:

    So proud of you to have TWO completed manuscripts! I know editting/revising is a pain in the backside, but a necessary evil. Maybe you could do the editting/revising for a while, then take a break to work on your new story. As far as posting a few chapters a week, it could be used to “whet” the reader’s appetite for more. They may possibly decide they can’t wait for the weeks to pass, so they will purchase the book to read at their own pace! $$$$$ I’ve never done it, but know of others that it works for really well. Good luck!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
    • * bflyzone says:

      Thank you, Kate. I’ve been really whooping it up this year. I have so many ideas and so many different genres, its difficult to know what to do sometimes. I do believe in writing when you have momentum, but I also believe in taking care of yourself. I just have to keep a good balance.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

