bflyzone



And 40 Years Later…

Here’s my tie dye of the day!

And here’s my post…

Passage of time is a strange little monster. I think it’s something that a lot of people do differently and there is not real right or wrong way to do it (as with all writing, I guess). P of T is an elephant I’ve been struggling with for the past couple of days. I have sought help from all corners of the internet and i still don’t have a really great answer, so I just made my own and hope it’s el correcto.
Here is a little background to my story… Two wizard’s apprentices are marked for death by the league of wizards known as the UWA. The apprentices are being attacked on a daily basis by the black wizard of death who has been taxed with their execution. The first P of T occurs over a time span of hundreds of years. Not much happens in that period of time except our heroes wander through the wilderness. Basically I started the scene a hundred years later and peppered in mentions of events and lines like “We did that a hundred years ago.” That one was easy.
Second P of T takes place when our heroes go into hiding for an undisclosed amount of time. They have a great life living on their own private island that they created with people they created and a town they created. This P of T was a little different in that I wanted to show that they had a good time, but I didn’t really want to go into it too deeply. What I ended up doing was writing about 2 pages worth of narrative with what I like to call blips of action where there will be several paragraphs of narrative and then a brief blob of action just so the readers know my characters are still there and participating in the story. I don’t know how well this will stand, but I’m hoping one or two of my blog friends may have some advice.
The last P of T instance, and the one giving me the most trouble, is right at the end of the book . Our heroes think they have destroyed the black wizard live in peace again for a short time. The apprentices even get married, but then it turns out the black wizard is not dead. He is just waiting for a moment of weakness to strike them. Basically its 40 years of battles and peace and more battles and more peace.
There weren’t supposed to be scenes within the 40 years. I was basically just gonna tell ya what happened. That didn’t work out because my characters are still writing themselves. I know telling is looked down upon in the writing world, but in some places, like P of T, it is very helpful.
I didn’t want to tell the whole thing because there were a lot of things I just couldn’t get by with telling. My two main characters are stuck in the human realm for 40 years this time, and they cannot use their powers because that would lead the black wizard straight to them. They live like humans for those 40 years but are always on the run. They are in the United States during this time and they live throughout the 70’s 80’s 90’s and 2000’s. Basically in this 40 year P of T, I would write a little bit of narrative, and then put my characters in an action scene. I would do the same thing for every decade. This was not the easiest thing in the world to do, but I owed it to my characters not to write the happiest parts of their lives away.
Anyway, writing passage of time is hard. I would appreciate any wisdom from my blogging friends.
Now I basically have a few small scenes before I can say “the end,” and that’s basically how I plan to spend the rest of my day. After I’m done here, I’m going to take a nice month long vacation on writing and do some intensive reading. Bloggers, do you have any book recommendations for me? Have fun!

Leave a Reply

