bflyzone



Bountiful Weekend with the Wizards.

Bloggers, my life has taken a very exciting turn this weekend and I am proud to share it with you. First of all, I got rejected again. I would like to send out a personal thank you to Vicki Motter for reading my heartfelt query letter and then smashing back down into my place! Oh well, that’s what agents are supposed to do right? We send, they reject? I did not let this bother me because 1, I have had so many rejection letters over the last few years that I have become desensitized, and 2, I am about to finish writing my wizard book!
Another cool thing that happened to me was I got a Twitter account. Yes, ladies and gents, I am officially a Twit. I have to give a quick thank you to Angela Q for hooking me on this wonderful techno-drug. I really have no idea what I am doing with the twitter account. Right now I am just aimlessly following authors I love, and agents, and Nascar drivers, and tweeting very random things because let’s face it, random is my thing.
As for my wizards… after sitting on my tushie doing absolutely nothing this past week, (I was supposed to be editing The Fall but just could not wake up the destroyer in me) I decided to do what my brain had been begging me to do. I could hear the spirits calling me, so I put down the computer and picked up my wizard notebook and tore through 60 pages in four days. Now that feels good!
Since I brought it up, I better tell you what my Wizard story is about. Actually, it is a very complicated tale, one of the most twisty turny books I’ve ever tried to write, and every time I pick up my notebook, the story gets more and more complected.
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (title is probably going to be changes due to many other things called the same) is a paranormal romance novel about a young apprentice named Salamander who has fallen in love with his wizard master, Zolton.
(NO, IT’S NOT WHAT YOU THINK, though still pretty awkward).
Things become complicated when the young Salamander discovers that he is a she, and the only way to continue her wizards training and to stay with her beloved Zolton is to restrain her femininity and continue to be the good little boy everyone thought she was. To help her with her ruse, Salamander’s best friend Ferret, also an apprentice, casts spells on her to inhibit her growing womanhood and to make her seem more male…and that’s just the beginning. From here it gets insane.

Why I am shocked I wrote this book…
First of all, wizards? I admit that this book has been a long time coming simply because I was terrified to write it. A little background about myself, I am from the bible belt, and I am Christian through and through. My parents are the same. I was a teenager when Harry Potter came out and was firmly ensconced in the uproar of Christian folks against those books. I sat back and nodded while it was all happening. “Yeah, sure, evil, Satan, BOOGIE BOOGIE BOOGIE!” I remember sneaking episodes of Sabrina the Teenaged Witch, and all that jazz, shaking my head at myself all that time. I did not actually get to read Harry Potter until I was an adult. I didn’t hate it, but I’d lump it in with Twilight in that I didn’t really see what the fuss was about, so take that for what it’s worth.
Another thing, I’m used to writing Regency romance novels, so I had no idea where this wizard thing came from. Actually, I’ve always hated Regencies where the girl dressed up like a boy and fell in love with whatever aristocrat she was serving. I guess the only saving grace for me was that Salamander did not know what she was until it was too late, and being a wizard’s apprentice was all she knew, and she was desperate to keep her wizard family intact.
Another cool thing about these wizards is they are all Christians. I don’t get too bogged down in religion, but I do get just enough in there to keep the people with the pitchforks off my back. Technically, the wizards are lower forms of angels, but I don’t get that specific.
The last reason I decided to write this book is because I couldn’t not write it. Aric and Sheree have been pushing me to write this thing for the last two years and I appreciate every little push Aric has given me (he himself is a red wizard) But I had not idea in the beginning what I had. I just started writing and one thing would build upon another upon another and so on and so forth. I’m almost certain that the same thing happened to JK. Once you start something good and cool you just can’t stop. I wouldn’t be surprised if she didn’t have an Aric floating around her head. I feel like my hand is being guided and it is a magical thing.
So I wrote 60 amazingly awesome pages in the last 4 days and I am going to continue on, hopefully. Being at work does complicate things a little, but I am so sure that I am going to finish this thing by the end of the week. My hands are shaking and I am ready to go.
I hope you all have a wonderful independence day. I know I will. Thanks for reading.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * katepatrick says:

    Fellow Bible-Belter!!:) I know what you mean. FOllow your heart! Keep writing while inspired!:)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Satis says:

    This actually sounds intriguing!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

