bflyzone



Deadlock: The Choice!

I have a whole day off to myself, and I know what projects need to be done first, but I have other, less pressing stories nagging at me.
I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I should be finishing the editing of my next romance novel, The Fall. Word count is perfect, most of the scenes are all hashed out. Though there are a few things that need to be tweaked here and there. I would like to put it on Smashwords by the end of the month, and basically I just have to read through it several more times to make sure it’s ready. Here comes the big but…I have no desire to edit. I feel like I’m going to wretch every time I open Word, and I’ve already read the story so many times that I think my head may lift off my shoulders and do a 360.
Then there are those damned wizards I’ve been writing about…Okay, no kidding, this story is epic and is probably going to be the best thing I’ve ever done. I am so close to writing the end of this thing that it’s sickening. I’ve actually been reading it aloud to a friend every Tuesday and she has been pushing me to finish. She is just amazed by my characters and can’t get enough of them. Only this week I don’t get to see her. That just nixed my momentum.
Finally, there are the aliens. I’m the most excited about this story. It doesn’t have much of a plot yet and it is written in episodes. Basically it is a story written from the alien’s point of view. I think it came about because I was so angry that V got canceled and I didn’t get to see Concordia or the breeding program. Sigh…it is not the most important thing going for me now, but I guarantee it will be later.
So, here I am at a deadlock. I don’t call it a writer’s block because I want to write and I probably can. I just can’t make the damn decision of what to write, so I’ve been reading a book about character emotions instead. Those types of books are very important to me because I’m an aspie and I don’t catch on to emotion so well, and yes, if you look very close at my characters, they are all aspies, every last one of them. Can’t help it. Aspie is what I know so aspie is what I write.
Just a side note before I go back to deadlock, I asked my muse, Aric, what I should work on. He gave me the answer in one word: “BLOG,” so here I am.
I promise as soon as I turn this dread machine off, I’ll start writing again…something.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bflyzone says:

    Pokin’ at cha, pokin’ at cha…

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  2. * bflyzone says:

    I also could be typing out notebooks, but my internal editor and my typist are Siamese twins who cannot be separated. Ho hum.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  3. * katepatrick says:

    I have about 3 pages left to write on my second book, Memphis Heat. I’ve avoided it all day. I even made a trip to Sam’s Club to avoid it! That is serious! I will then join you in the multiple rereadings of the m/s. Chin up!:)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * bflyzone says:

      I think I just need a break. I’ve been going going going since I got my root canal two weeks ago. Making up for lost time I guess.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  4. Editing stinks. Treat yourself to a break for a day then come back with fresh eyes.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

