bflyzone



Get to Work!

Hello bloggers, damn it’s good to be back in the land of the healthy. I am officially on my fourth day post root canal, and I have to say I feel great. Getting back into the writing groove has been a little bit rocky especially because I’ve had 2 infections over the past month. It’s definitely hard to get back into the game after you’ve been sick so long, but today the words seem to be flowing, so it’s time to get back to it!
This post should be fun. I dreamed it up while I was hopped up on pain meds…haven’t needed them in 3 days mind you. A lot of people wonder about the lives of writers and what they do and where they work all day. I can’t say anything about anyone else, but I think my story is pretty interesting. I thought I’d share.

Here’s where the magic happens for me. Behind the Aura Cacia at ye ole health food store. I think I’m pretty blessed to have the place all to myself for 40 hours a week with the occasional customer coming to shmooze with me, and hopefully buy some supplements. You’ll see my second biz, the tie dye down below. If there is one thing you can count on, I always have some tie dye with me somewhere. I keep it in the store so it doesn’t get that car sitting in the sun smell.

On closer inspection, I’ve got my current editing project, The Fall, on my computer. I’ve got the aliens in my notebook next to me just in case I lose my mind and can’t edit anymore. I’ve got my Ipod music set to Dr. Jeffery Thompson’s Creative mind system. If you’re in a non writing lurch this will get your creative juices flowing again. ( I recommend the 2.0 system. It’s just better).

The very first time I used the system was when I wrote the first chapter of To Love a Beast (available on Smashwords). I wrote for 24 hours straight. That whole first 50 pages were pretty damn racy for me (it’s 36 now if you were counting. Editing), and I just kept going and going and going. It was like a writing cleanse/detox. Got it all out , baby!

Also, speaking of creative juices, I have a nice bottle of Aura Cacia Creative Juice always in hand. It doesn’t work quite as well as the theta waves in my Creative Mind System, but it works pretty well on its own.
Other good creative remedies I like to use are Phosphatitlesterine and think O2 tea. All these things get the blood rushing to your brain and your brain thinking faster. That’s one of the great things about working in a health food store. You’ve got access! And lots and lots and lots of spare time for your writing.
Just in case you were wondering, here is a picture of my little slice of Heaven. I will never ever ever ever ever leave this place.
Have a great day and buy a tie dye.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * katepatrick says:

    I am so glad you are back and feeling better! Love your creative zones. Mine is a cluttered dining table with cords, earphones, thesaurus, dictionary, legal pad, pens, pencils, highlighters, etc. My goal for July is to clean out the downstairs storage room and make a small office for myself. Then I can hide my writing mess!! Have a great weekend!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. * M.S. Fowle says:

    So glad you’re feeling better!
    Maybe I need a job at a health food store… 😉

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  3. I am scheduled for a root canal this afternoon. This is one time when I can say I definitely feel your pain! Glad to hear you are better and are writing again. I turned in my edited manuscript at the end of last week, and now I’m trying to decide which partial m/s to start back on. Might need to check out some of that tea you recommend so I can make up my mind faster!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

