bflyzone



Dreams about work

I had a dream that my car got stolen along with my laptop and all of my books. I was freaked out at first, but then I remembered that I saved all my work on a usb. Then I started scheming on how to get a new computer. What a weird, but realistic dream!
This dream got me thinking about my writing. I have so much of it in my computer, piles of it in notebooks, years and years of pages. The most important pages of my life are still not published.
Sometimes I feel like I’m losing time. How many thousands of amazing book ideas I have severely outweighs the number of stories and books i’ve actually written. I have 3 books I’m actively working on right now, one finished book, one book in editing and 2 I’m writing. I feel like I’m at a
standstill on all of them.
I know I should be working on the book in editing, but the other two keep calling for me to write them instead. I’ve heard the rule that I should work on only one book at a time, but the pull to write each one of them is is so strong. By the end of the day, I’m thinking about all 3 stories at random and I haven’t made any headway on any of them. Ugh, how frustrating!
What do you do when there are too many fictional mouths to feed?
Finally, my first masterpiece is ready to be published on smashwords. I’ve got every single text thing I need to publish “To Love a Beast.” I only lack one very important piece of the puzzle, a professional cover. I wanted to do the thing myself. I’ve got the picture for the cover, I downloaded paint.net to my computer, but I have no idea how to use it. For God’s sake, all I need to do is size the picture correctly, put the title and my name on it and I’m done. It’s the last stumbling block and for some reason I can’t do it. Thank you everyone who has read my blog. Anybody have any ideas?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Oh man, so glad to see this post. I just published a book three weeks ago, working on one in the final editing stage and have two in production! We are twins! I don’t know…I totally feel your pain (obviously). I know what you mean about losing time–I have a really hard time shutting my brain off to actually quit writing for the day. Even on the weekends. My husband has been getting upset with me for not being able to stop then, either. But like you said, there are all these ideas just dying to come out! I often dream about work, too–I think once we get into our stories it is hard for our brain to shut off.

    I was doing well when only writing one and got about halfway through when it completely stopped and I could not milk anything more out of it. It was a great story and went along well, but I couldn’t decide where I was going with it, so I started this other book that I am much more interested in finishing. We both seem to be suffering from SNIS (shiny new idea syndrome). If you can find a solution, please share with me! But I’m afraid we’re just the creative types who will have to learn to work around our quirks!

    As for your book cover, I could help you do it in Photoshop if you have the image and type all ready to go. I designed my own cover in there (I took a year of design classes). I guess I really don’t know how to use any other programs, however. Let me know if you are totally stuck, would be happy to help!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * bflyzone says:

      Oh, man, that would be great! I’m so poor though. I would be happy to repay you with editing and book opinions. I just want to get this book out there so badly. It just needs to be done. I would love to take you up on your offer. Please let me know how to contact you.

      The way I’ve been dealing with my many many fictional children is to write whatever story I’m interested at the time. That’s the best I can do.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * bflyzone says:

      Oh yea, I’ll also give you a free copy if my book ever gets published. Who knows, one of us may get famous some day.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  2. * miranda says:

    Justin might be able to help u with the cover.. hes a graphics designer and T-shirt/ other stuff printer lol and he started with paint.net so he knows how use it…hey! Do u remember in middle and high school when I used to edit ur stories for u? I used to have a copy of one of them but I don’t know what happened to it lol

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * bflyzone says:

      Omg, you have no idea how helpful that would be. Plus I’ve been wanting to come out and see you guys. It’s been like five years or something crazy like that. If you will help me with this, you all will swim in tie dye. What are your weekends like? We have a lot to catch up on. I’m in Broken Arrow all the time. My tie dying buddy lives there so I’m a little familiar with the territory. How do you feel about a visit?
      Of course I can always send the picture by email and the specifications. For someone who knows how to work the software, it should be really easy. Basically it’s just a picture with words on it.
      Let me know what you want to do.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

