bflyzone



Why Not?

One of the best things about being a writer is the freedom and creativity it cultivates. When most people in the world will ask why, we writer’s ask why not? We deal in the ordinary and mundane as well as the crazy and obscene. There doesn’t even need to be and equal balance of the two. If it’s readable and interesting (and put forth in a feasible manner) people will read it.
I don’t start out writing the stories that work well and are basic. Those are great for some people, but I like to think I can do better. I write down those stories in a notebook and save them for when I’ve run out of more interesting ideas.
I like to write the stupid ideas that grow into something more. I like stories written out of reckless abandon formed by my mind at a whim.
I like stories where the characters reveal things to me little by little. They speak to me and make my book seem more like a living breathing entity than a pile of papers and mb’s.
I like to take my soul and splatter it all over the page.
Most of all, I like the reaction I get when someone reads my stories. I like to see them cross their arms, shake their heads and say, “that’s a new one on me.”
People enjoy the ordinary, but they remember the extraordinary. Some people may say there is nothing new under the sun. I always say there is nothing new under the sun…yet.

Yes, I wrote this at 5 am. It just had to be done. I didn’t have to go anywhere today, so I figured, why not?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lois Hoffman says:

    Wouldn’t the world be such a boring place if we all wrote the ordinary?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  2. So true, so true… Did you get back to sleep? (Or did you even bother?)…khrys

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
    • * bflyzone says:

      Sometimes sleep is irrelevant. That night I woke up around 3ish. I have a rule stating that if I lay in bed for more than an hour tormented by a story, then by God, I better wake up and be productive, so from 3 to noon I sat in front of my computer typing as fast as I could. Then I slept for a while. That’s a pretty good productive day for me.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

