bflyzone



The Big Decision

I have officially made my decision about my next novel. My novel is a romance called The Fall and it is about a girl who falls off of a cruise ship and is rescued by a handsome recluse who lives on his own island off the coast of Belize. He finds reasons to make her stay on the island and then ultimately traps her there. I’ve already written and finished this book. It’s almost 75,000 words and I love the story, but I noticed something huge was missing from it…Characterization!

Yes, my characters are very flat and one dimensional. There are a few tidbits of personality here and there, but I hadn’t really endeavored to add interest or back story.

As an author I believe it is time to stretch my legs and add a little deeper focus on characters. I am used to writing a plot driven story, letting the characters personalities come out in dialogue and action, but I don’t think I can get away with that in The Fall. The plot is very simple and they spend about 90% of the book on the island. There isn’t a heck of a lot to do on a deserted island. This is a great opportunity to develop characters and make people care.

Wish me luck, buy a tie dye.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * bflyzone says:

    I’d like to give a special thanks to Donald Maass. I just bought your book The Fire in Fiction and it is fabulous. Thank you so much for your advice and invaluable insight.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

